Eve's Insight, Gallery Events

Looking Back at opening up your own gallery

Q: Was your goal or intention to open up your own store or gallery?

Eve: I participated in many art fairs and galleries until it made sense to open up my own personal gallery.  In 1991, shortly before we enlarged the gallery, I had a chance to interview with John Loring in New York. Loring was the celebrated artistic director of Tiffany’s. He liked my work.

I presented the idea to come to New York once a month to design and remain in Chicago where our gallery was taking off.  John’s memorable response was that our new relationship was a marriage.  I wasn’t ready for marriage, I just wanted a simple date.  I turned down the offer and continued down the path for a gallery reopening.  Our neighbor had moved, and we doubled our space.

